This is me.

The young woman behind these words.

For so long, I was absolutely terrified to show the world what I could really do; what I was capable of. I told myself that writing was silly and nobody would care. I had this notion that nobody would like what I had to say. I told myself that I more than likely would fail horribly at trying to put my words down in a constructive and precise way; in a way that would be able to connect with others. Then a friend of my said, “Why do you care? Why is is that you are so worried about what others think? If you truly love to write, then write. Just do it,” She then preceded to ask me to share some of my writings, my sacred, secret writings. So… I did. I collected some of the things I’ve wrote over the years and I hit the send button. And to my surprise, my friend actually liked what I had wrote. I couldn’t believe it. I thought that surely my friend was just being nice. I kind of shook it off, thanked her for her kind words, and went on with my day.

Not to long after that, I was out at a bar with a group of friends.

I was introduced to a woman whom was friends with one of my friends. We began to talk and somehow ended up on “what we like to do” topics. All sorts of things crossed my mind, and I thought about not even mentioning it with the fear of being looked down on, but I said it anyways.

“I like to write,” I held my breath and waited for the criticism to come. It didn’t, though. I looked at her and a smirk had spread across her face. “I write too! Do you mind if I could read something of yours?”

We ended up chatting some more and later on that night I eventually let her read something very personal I had wrote. And again, to my surprise, she loved it.

Thats all I needed.

My fire was fueled.

It’s crazy how a little encouragement can change your outlook on what you do. It definitely gave me the confidence I needed, the push I needed to pursue my writing again.

I’m a little rusty, but I am getting there.

Thank you all for reading my blog. I appreciate it more than you know and I’m so excited to be apart of a wonderful writing community.

Published by

samantha

24. Alabama. Free-spirited.

4 thoughts on “This is me.”

  1. Samantha.
    Wow! You have some great stories here. I look forward to reading more in the future. Keep on keepin’ on!
    Oh, and thanks for following. I really appreciate it.
    Nick.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you! I haven’t wrote as much as I’d like to here lately, but I do appreciated the encouragement and support.

    You have interesting content as well!Thanks for following me! Still extremely new to this site so I’m thankful when I get someone’s attention with my writing.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment